Harmonia Artificiosa -- The Sonata à Cinque


Sonatas for two violins, two violas and basso continuo

by Rossi, Rovetta, Furchheim, Charpentier, Schmelzer, Biber,

Rosenmüller, Muffat & Telemann



Saturday, March 27, 2004, 8:00 p.m.
St. Anne Catholic Church
2140 Westheimer

map st-anne.gif (89396 bytes)

Early Conversations Lecture -- 7:00 p.m.
"In Search of the Origins of the Sonata"
Dr. John Moran, Peabody Conservatory and Rebel cellist

Tickets are $25 for general admission, $20 for seniors and students and may be purchased at the door or by calling 713-432-1744.


Houston Early Music is pleased to present a return performance by the period-instrument ensemble, Rebel, in a program of chamber music from seventeenth- and eighteenth-century Italy, Germany, and Austria which traces the origins of the quintet as we know it today, written for the richly sonorous formation of two violins, two violas and basso continuo. Rebel’s performance features rarely performed works by Salamone Rossi, H.I.F. Biber, Johann Rosenmüller, Georg Muffat, and Georg Phillip Telemann. 

Named after the innovative French Baroque composer Jean-Féry Rebel (1666-1747), Rebel was originally formed in The Netherlands in l99l. In the Fifth International Competition for Ensembles in Early Music, Utrecht 1991, Rebel was awarded first prize. Since then the ensemble has performed at European venues such as the Holland Festival Oude Muziek, Tage Alter Musik Berlin, the Resonanzen Festival (Vienna), La Chapelle Royale (Versailles), Internationale Festtage für Alte Musik Stuttgart, Tage Alter Musik Regensburg and the Händel Festspiele (Halle an der Saale, Germany), among others.

Rebel is currently in residence at historic Trinity Church, Wall Street in New York City, collaborating with Trinity Choir in works ranging from the cantatas of Bach to the major oratories of, Handel, Bach, Mozart and Haydn.

Prior to the concert at 7:00 pm, Dr. John Moran, Rebel cellist and Peabody Conservatory professor, will present a lecture entitled "In Search of the Origins of the Sonata."


"Vitality and enthusiasm … virtuosity and joy." (The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette)

Hailed by the New York Times as “Sophisticated and Beguiling” and praised by the Los Angeles Times  for their “astonishingly vital music-making”,  REBEL (pronounced “Re-bel”) has earned an impressive international reputation, enchanting diverse audiences by their unique style and their virtuosic, highly expressive and provocative approach to the Baroque and Classical repertoire.




Jörg-Michael Schwarz & Karen Marie Marmer, violins & directors

Stephen Marvin & Stephen Creswell, violas

John Moran, violoncello

Dongsok Shin, harpsichord & organ

Daniel Swenberg, theorbo, lute & baroque guitar




Sinfonia grave, Gagliarda detta la Massara & Salamon Rossi (1570 - c.1630)

Passeggio d’un balletto from: Il primo libro, (1607)

Canzona Terza á4 in G Giovanni Rovetta

from: Salmi concertati, Venice (1626) (c. 1595 --1668)


Suite à 5 in b minor (1678) Joh.Wilhelm Furchheim Praeludium, Alemande, Courant, (c.1635 - 1682)

Saraband, Gigue


Sonata con altre Arie (1669) Johann Heinrich Schmelzer

Serenata, Allemande, Erlecino, (1620 - 1680)

Ciacona, Campanella, Lamento


Symphonie pour un reposoir (c. 1670) Marc Antoine Charpentier

Ouverture, Tantum ergo, (1645/50-1704)

Genitori amen, Allemande grave

Sonata in b minor Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber

Fidicinium Sacro-Profanum, (1683) (1644 - 1704)


Sonata Decima á5 in F Major (1682) Johann Rosenmüller

(1619 - 1684)


* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Sonata in f minor, TWV44, 32 Georg Philipp Telemann

Adagio, Allegro, Largo, Presto (1681 - 1767)

Passacaglia in G Georg Muffat (1653 - 1704)

from: Sonata V, Armonico tributo, (1682)


Sonata in F, TWV44, 11 G.P. Telemann Affetuoso, Allegro, Adagio, Presto


These activities are made possible in part by a grant from the City of Houston and the Texas Commission on the Arts through the Cultural Arts Council of Houston and Harris County

P.O. Box 271193 | Houston TX 77277-1193 | Phone 713-432-1744 | email info@HoustonEarlyMusic.org
Copyright 1996-2003 by Houston Early Music.  Updated March 17, 2004